الكائنات والبيئات التي تجسد الطبيعة والبساطة والعيوب الدقيقة تحقق جمالية أعمق وأكثر جدوى.

Wabi-sabi هي في آن واحد رؤية للعالم ، فلسفة الحياة ، نوع من الجمالية ، وبالتالي ، مبدأ التصميم. يجمع المصطلح مفهومين يابانيين متميزين: WABI، الذي يشير إلى نوع من الجمال التجاوزي يتحقق من خلال النقص الدقيق ، مثل الفخار الذي يعكس حرفتها اليدوية ؛ و سابي، الذي يشير إلى الجمال الذي يأتي مع الوقت ، مثل الزنجار الموجود على النحاس القديم. في الجزء الأخير من اليابان في القرن السادس عشر ، تم تكليف طالب من "طريق الشاي" ، وهو سين نو ريكيو ، برعاية سيده ، تاكينو جو أو. Rikyu تطهير حديقة من الحطام وهدم بدقة. ما إن تم تنظيف الحديقة تمامًا ، شرع في هز شجرة الكرز ، مما تسبب في سقوط بعض الزهور والأوراق بشكل عشوائي على الأرض. هذا هو wabi-sabi.

 

"ابي" يقال أنه يتم تعريفه على أنه "البساطة الريفية" أو "الأناقة المنقوصة" مع التركيز على عقلية أقل.

"سابي" يُترجم إلى "السرور في الكمال".

في فلسفة زين ، هناك سبعة مبادئ جمالية في تحقيق wabi-sabi:

  • كانسو - البساطة
  • Fukinsei - عدم التماثل أو عدم انتظام
  • شيبومي - الجمال في قللت
  • شيزن - طبيعية دون ادعاء
  • Yugen - نعمة خفية
  • Datsuzoku - freeness
  • Seijaku - الهدوء

 

في نواح كثيرة ، تتعارض المثل الجمالية الأساسية للوابي-سابي - عدم الثبات ، والعيوب ، وعدم الكمال - مع القيم الجمالية الغربية التقليدية. على سبيل المثال ، عادة ما تحترم القيم الغربية تناسق الأشكال المصنعة وقوة التحمل للمواد الاصطناعية ، في حين أن وابي-سابي تفضل عدم تناسق الأشكال العضوية وقابلية المواد الطبيعية للتلف. ومع ذلك ، لا ينبغي تفسير Wabi-sabi على أنه جمالية غير مهذبة أو غير منظمة ، وهي رابطة خاطئة شائعة يشار إليها غالبًا باسم WABI-slobby. من الخصائص المميزة للوابي- sabi أن كائنًا أو بيئة تبدو محترمة ومهتمة ، كما هو الحال مع حديقة Rikyu. الجمالية ليست مضطربة ، بل يتم ترتيبها بشكل طبيعي - أي يتم ترتيبها بالطريقة التي يتم بها ترتيب الطبيعة ، مرسومة من خطوط منحنية ومنحنيات بدلاً من الخطوط المستقيمة والزوايا اليمنى. مع صعود حركة الاستدامة ، بدأت المثل الغربية تتطور نحو wabi-sabi ، وإن كان ذلك لأسباب مختلفة. سيكون التصميم الداخلي للمنزل المصمم ليكون wabisabi نظيفًا وبسيطًا ، ويستخدم مواد طبيعية غير مكتملة مثل الخشب والحجر والمعادن ، ويستخدم لوحة من الألوان الطبيعية الصامتة (على سبيل المثال ، البني والأخضر والرمادي والصدأ). الداخلية المنزلية المصممة لتكون مستدامة من شأنها أن توظف أيضا العديد من المواد الطبيعية نفسها ، ولكن التركيز سيكون على استدامتها وإعادة التدوير ، وليس جمالياتها.

 

على الرغم من أن wabi-sabi هي جمالية متواضعة ، إلا أنها أيضًا جمالية متطورة تتعارض مع العديد من التحيزات الفطرية والاتفاقيات الثقافية الغربية. وفقًا لذلك ، ضع في اعتبارك wabi-sabi عند التصميم للجماهير الشرقية أو الجماهير الغربية التي لها حساسيات فنية وتصميم متطورة. ادمج العناصر التي تجسد عدم الثبات والقصور وعدم اكتمال التصميم. على الرغم من ذلك ، استخدم هذه العناصر ببراعة ، لأن أقصى درجاتها يمكن أن تقوض سلامة الجمالية (على سبيل المثال ، المسكن الذي يبدو وكأنه قد ينهار في أي لحظة غير مكتمل للغاية وغير مكتمل للغاية). تفضل الألوان المستمدة من الطبيعة والمواد الطبيعية والتشطيبات والأشكال والأشكال العضوية.

أنظر أيضا التأثير الحيوي ، خط الرغبة ، الكثافة المقترحة ، والتماثل.

صورة

صورة

صورة

يتميز Wabi Sabi House للمهندس المعماري Rick Sundberg بأشكال غير متماثلة وخشب وحجر غير مكتمل وألوان مستمدة من الطبيعة وجمالية بسيطة. إنه مثال ممتاز لإقامة توازن بين جماليات wabi-sabi والاحتياجات العملية للحياة الغربية الحديثة.

المزيد من القراءات ،

التقييم الاسترشادي هو طريقة فحص قابلية الاستخدام لبرامج الكمبيوتر التي تساعد على تحديد مشاكل قابلية الاستخدام في تصميم واجهة المستخدم (UI). وهو يتضمن على وجه التحديد مقيمين يفحصون الواجهة ويحكمون على توافقها مع التوصية ...

طريقة RITE ، من أجل الاختبار والتقييم التكراري السريع ، والتي يشار إليها عادةً باسم اختبار "RITE" ، هي طريقة قابلة للاستخدام التكراري. تم تعريفه بواسطة مايكل ميدلوك ، دينيس وكسون ، بيل فولتون ، مارك تيرانو ورامون روميرو. لقد كان شام علنا ...

خاصية تؤثر فيها الخصائص الفيزيائية لكائن أو بيئة على وظيفتها. تم إنشاء مصطلح تحمل التكاليف من قبل عالم النفس جيمس جي. جيبسون ، وهو تعريفه الأكثر شهرة مأخوذ من كتابه الأساسي لعام 1979 ، المعنى البيئي ...

بحث لتقييم قابلية استخدام منتجات منافسيك وإمكانية تعلمها ، وهذا يكمل استراتيجيات التسويق التقليدية ومراجعات الأعمال من خلال النظر في السياق الاجتماعي والاقتصادي والتقني. يسمح لفرق التصميم بـ ...

تمثل سحابة العلامات (كلمة سحابة ، أو قائمة مرجحة في التصميم المرئي) تمثيلًا مرئيًا جديدًا لبيانات النص ، وعادةً ما تستخدم لتصوير البيانات الوصفية للكلمات الرئيسية (علامات) على مواقع الويب ، أو لتصور نص النموذج المجاني. العلامات عادةً كلمات مفردة ، والاستيراد ...

فحص منهجي للمادة ، الصفات الجمالية ، والتفاعلية للأجسام: يسأل عما تقوله الأشياء عن الناس وثقافتهم ووقتهم ومكانهم بدلاً من التركيز على ما يقوله الناس عن المنتجات والأنظمة التي يستخدمونها. ...

Objects and environments that embody naturalness, simplicity, and subtle imperfection achieve a deeper, more meaningful aesthetic.

Wabi-sabi is at once a world view, philosophy of life, type of aesthetic, and, by extension, principle of design. The term brings together two distinct Japanese concepts: wabi, which refers to a kind of transcendental beauty achieved through subtle imperfection, such as pottery that reflects its handmade craftsmanship; and sabi, which refers to beauty that comes with time, such as the patina found on aged copper. In the latter part of sixteenth-century Japan, a student of the Way of Tea, Sen no Rikyu, was tasked to tend the garden by his master, Takeno Jo-o. Rikyu cleared the garden of debris and scrupulously raked the grounds. Once the garden was perfectly groomed, he proceeded to shake a cherry tree, causing a few flowers and leaves to fall randomly to the ground. This is wabi-sabi.

 

“Wabi” is said to be defined as “rustic simplicity” or “understated elegance” with a focus on a less-is-more mentality.

“Sabi” is translated to “taking pleasure in the imperfect.”

In Zen philosophy, there are seven aesthetic principles in achieving wabi-sabi:

  • Kanso — simplicity
  • Fukinsei — asymmetry or irregularity
  • Shibumi — beauty in the understated
  • Shizen — naturalness without pretense
  • Yugen — subtle grace
  • Datsuzoku — freeness
  • Seijaku — tranquility

 

In many ways, the primary aesthetic ideals of wabi-sabi — impermanence, imperfection, and incompleteness — run counter to traditional Western aesthetic values. For example, Western values typically revere the symmetry of manufactured forms and the durability of synthetic materials, whereas wabi-sabi favors the asymmetry of organic forms and the perishability of natural materials. Wabi-sabi should not, however, be construed as an unkempt or disorganized aesthetic, a common mistaken association often referred to as wabi-slobby. A defining characteristic of wabi-sabi is that an object or environment appears respected and cared for, as with Rikyu’s garden. The aesthetic is not disordered, but rather naturally ordered — that is, ordered in the way that nature is ordered, drawn of crooked lines and curves instead of straight lines and right angles. With the rise of the sustainability movement, Western ideals have begun to evolve toward wabi-sabi, albeit for different reasons. A home interior designed to be wabisabi would be clean and minimalist, employ unfinished natural materials such as wood, stone, and metal, and use a palette of muted natural colors (e.g., browns, greens, grays, and rusts). A home interior designed to be sustainable would also employ many of the same natural materials, but the emphasis would be on their sustainability and recyclability, not their aesthetics.

 

Though wabi-sabi is a humble aesthetic, it is also a sophisticated aesthetic that runs contrary to many innate biases and Western cultural conventions. Accordingly, consider wabi-sabi when designing for Eastern audiences or Western audiences that have sophisticated artistic and design sensibilities. Incorporate elements that embody impermanence, imperfection, and incompleteness in the design. Employ these elements with subtlety, however, as their extremes can undermine the integrity of the aesthetic (e.g., a dwelling that looks as though it may collapse at any moment is too impermanent and too incomplete). Favor colors drawn from nature, natural materials and finishes, and organic forms and motifs.

See also Biophilia Effect, Desire Line, Propositional Density, and Symmetry.

image

image

image

The Wabi Sabi House by architect Rick Sundberg features asymmetric forms, unfinished wood and stone, colors drawn from nature, and a minimalist aesthetic. It is an excellent example of striking a balance between wabi-sabi aesthetics and the practical needs of modern Western living.

More Readings,

Exploratory research is research conducted for a problem that has not been studied more clearly, intended to establish priorities, develop operational definitions and improve the final research design. Exploratory research helps determine the best re...

Experience sampling is a way to find out more about an experience while the event is actually happening. Participants stop what they are doing and take time to note their experiences over a period of days, weeks, or even years — which can result in...

The act of measuring certain sensitive variables in a system can alter them, and confound the accuracy of the measurement. This principle is based on Heisenberg’s uncertainty principle in physics. Heisenberg’s uncertainty principle states that b...

The process of using spatial and environmental information to navigate to a destination. Whether navigating a college campus, the wilds of a forest, or a Web site, the basic process of wayfinding involves the same four stages: Orientation, Route...

Capturing the day-to-day context in which people engage with your product or service This captures what customers do, think, and use as they set out to achieve a goal that involves your product or service. It provides a framework that desig...

A systematic examination of the material, aesthetic, and interactive qualities of objects It asks what objects say about people and their culture, time, and place rather than focusing on what people say about the products and systems they use. ...