ميل إلى تفسير المساحات المظلمة أو المظلمة للكائن كظلال ناتجة عن مصدر ضوء أعلى الكائن.

البشر متحيزون لتفسير الأشياء على أنها مضاءة من مصدر ضوء واحد من الأعلى. تم العثور على هذا التحيز في جميع الفئات العمرية والثقافات ، والنتائج المحتملة من البشر تتطور في بيئة مضاءة من الأعلى بواسطة الشمس. لو تطور البشر في النظام الشمسي مع أكثر من شمس ، فإن التحيز سيكون مختلفًا.

نتيجة لانحياز الإضاءة من أعلى إلى أسفل ، يتم تفسير المناطق المظلمة أو المظللة عمومًا على أنها أبعد ما تكون عن مصدر الضوء ، ويتم تفسير مناطق الضوء على أنها الأقرب إلى مصدر الضوء. وبالتالي ، يتم تفسير الكائنات التي تكون خفيفة في الأعلى ومظلمة في أسفل على أنها محدبة ، ويتم تفسير الكائنات التي تكون داكنة في الأعلى والضوء في أسفل على أنها مقعرة. في كل حالة ، يزداد العمق الظاهر مع زيادة التباين بين المناطق المضيئة والمظلمة. عندما يكون للأشياء إشارات تظليل غامضة ، يتحول المخ ذهابًا وإيابًا بين التفسير المقعر والمحدب.

يمكن أن يؤثر التحيز في الإضاءة من أعلى لأسفل أيضًا على تصور الطبيعة أو الأشياء غير الطبيعية للأشياء المألوفة. تبدو الكائنات الموضحة بالإضاءة من أعلى لأسفل طبيعية ، في حين أن الكائنات المألوفة الموضحة بالإضاءة من أسفل إلى أعلى تبدو غير طبيعية. يستغل المصممون هذا التأثير بشكل شائع لإنشاء صور مخيفة أو غير طبيعية. ومن المثير للاهتمام ، هناك دليل على أن الكائنات تبدو طبيعية أكثر ويفضل عند إضاءة من أعلى اليسار ، وليس من أعلى مباشرة. هذا التأثير أقوى للأشخاص الذين يستخدمون اليد اليمنى من الأشخاص الذين يستخدمون اليد اليسرى ، وهو أسلوب شائع للفنانين ومصممي الغرافيك. على سبيل المثال ، في دراسة استقصائية شملت أكثر من مائتي لوحة مأخوذة من متحف اللوفر وبرادو ومتاحف نورتون سيمون ، أضاء أكثر من 75 في المائة من أعلى اليسار. تُستخدم الإضاءة العلوية اليسرى أيضًا بشكل شائع في تصميم الرموز وعناصر التحكم في واجهات برامج الكمبيوتر.

يلعب تحيز الإضاءة من أعلى لأسفل دورًا مهمًا في تفسير العمق والطبيعة ، ويمكن للمصممين معالجته بعدة طرق. استخدم مصدر إضاءة أعلى اليسار عند تصوير كائنات أو بيئات ذات مظهر طبيعي أو وظيفي. استكشف مصادر الضوء من أسفل إلى أعلى عند تصوير كائنات أو بيئات غير طبيعية المظهر أو نذير أعمدة. استخدم مستوى التباين بين المناطق المضيئة والمظلمة لتغيير مظهر العمق.

أنظر أيضا العلاقة بين الشكل والأرض ، التمثيل الأيقوني ، الإسقاط ثلاثي الأبعاد ، الوادي الخارق.

صورة

تستخدم واجهات المستخدم الرسومية عمومًا الإضاءة العلوية لتوضيح أبعاد النوافذ وعناصر التحكم.

صورة

الدوائر المضاءة من الأعلى تظهر محدبة ، في حين أن الدوائر المضاءة من الأسفل تظهر مقعرة. عندما يتحرك مصدر الضوء من هذه المواضع ، تصبح إشارات العمق غامضة بشكل متزايد.

صورة

صورتان تم تقديمهما لنفس الشخص - واحدة مضاءة من أعلى اليسار وأخرى من الأسفل. تبدو الصورة المضاءة من أعلى اليسار طبيعية ، في حين تبدو الصورة المضاءة من الأسفل مخيفة.

 

المزيد من المراجع,

 

المزيد من القراءات ،

طريقة لتوضيح العلاقات والأنماط في سلوكيات النظام من خلال تمثيل اثنين أو أكثر من متغيرات النظام بطريقة مسيطر عليها. يفهم الناس الطريقة التي يعمل بها العالم من خلال تحديد العلاقات والأنماط داخل النظم أو فيما بينها. على...

وضع عناصر مثل الحواف يصطف على طول صفوف أو أعمدة شائعة ، أو أجسامهم على طول مركز مشترك. محاذاة الهدف الأساسي من مبدأ المحاذاة هو أنه لا يوجد شيء في تصميم الشرائح الخاص بك يجب أن يبدو كما لو كان ...

استخدام الأدوات المستندة إلى الويب للكشف عن البيانات ذات الصلة إحصائياً لتحسين قابليتها للاستخدام يُمكّن فرق التصميم من الاستفادة من الأدوات المستندة إلى الويب لجمع معلومات ذات دلالة إحصائية حول ما يفعله الأشخاص على موقع الويب أو تطبيق الويب. ...

التصميم السياقي (CD) هو عملية تصميم تتمحور حول المستخدم تم تطويرها بواسطة Hugh Beyer و Karen Holtzblatt. إنه يدمج الطرق الإثنوغرافية لجمع البيانات ذات الصلة بالمنتج من خلال الدراسات الميدانية وترشيد سير العمل وتصميم التعاون الإنساني ...

مكتب البحث هو اسم آخر للبحوث الثانوية. بشكل عام ، هناك نوعان من النشاط البحثي: البحث الأساسي (حيث يمكنك الخروج واكتشاف الأشياء بنفسك) ؛ والبحث الثانوي (حيث تقوم بمراجعة ما قام به الآخرون). ...

تفاعلات النماذج الأولية للورق وعمليات تبادل القيمة بين الأشخاص والتحف والبيئات: يعد العمل على تصميم خدمات حيث يبني أصحاب المصلحة تمثيلًا ماديًا للنظام ثم يقومون بنموذج أولي للمستقبل أو البديل ...

A tendency to interpret shaded or dark areas of an object as shadows resulting from a light source above the object.

Humans are biased to interpret objects as being lit from a single light source from above. This bias is found across all age ranges and cultures, and likely results from humans evolving in an environment lit from above by the Sun. Had humans evolved in a solar system with more than one sun, the bias would be different.

As a result of the top-down lighting bias, dark or shaded areas are commonly interpreted as being farthest from the light source, and light areas are interpreted as being closest to the light source. Thus, objects that are light at the top and dark at the bottom are interpreted as convex, and objects that are dark at the top and light at the bottom are interpreted as concave. In each case, the apparent depth increases as the contrast between light and dark areas increases. When objects have ambiguous shading cues the brain switches back and forth between concave and convex interpretation.

The top-down lighting bias can also influence the perception of the naturalness or unnaturalness of familiar objects. Objects that are depicted with top-down lighting look natural, whereas familiar objects that are depicted with bottom-up lighting look unnatural. Designers commonly exploit this effect in order to create scary or unnatural looking images. Interestingly, there is evidence that objects look most natural and are preferred when lit from the top-left, rather than from directly above. This effect is stronger for right-handed people than left-handed people, and is a common technique of artists and graphic designers. For example, in a survey of over two hundred paintings taken from the Louvre, the Prado, and the Norton Simon Museums, more than 75 percent were lit from the top left. Top-left lighting is also commonly used in the design of icons and controls in computer software interfaces.

The top-down lighting bias plays a significant role in the interpretation of depth and naturalness, and can be manipulated in a variety of ways by designers. Use a single top-left light source when depicting natural-looking or functional objects or environments. Explore bottom-up light sources when depicting unnatural-looking or foreboding objects or environments. Use the level of contrast between light and dark areas to vary the appearance of depth.

See also Figure-Ground Relationship, Iconic Representation, Three-Dimensional Projection, and Uncanny Valley.

image

Graphical user interfaces generally use top-left lighting to imply dimensionality of windows and controls.

image

The circles lit from above appear convex, whereas the circles lit from below appear concave. As the light source moves from these positions, the depth cues become increasingly ambiguous.

image

Two rendered images of the same person—one lit from top-left and other from below. The image lit from top-left looks normal, whereas the image lit from below looks scary.

 

Further Readings,

 

More Readings,

Task analysis is the analysis of how a task is accomplished, including a detailed description of both manual and mental activities, task and element durations, task frequency, task allocation, task complexity, environmental conditions, necessary clot...

Cultural probes (or design probes) is a technique used to inspire ideas in a design process. It serves as a means of gathering inspirational data about people's lives, values, and thoughts. Use materials such as postcards, journals, cameras, tex...

The visible clustering of observations and insights into meaningful categories and relationships • Designers capture research insights, observations, concerns, or requirements on individual sticky notes. • Rather than grouping notes into predef...

A literature review is a text of a scholarly paper, which includes the current knowledge including substantive findings, as well as theoretical and methodological contributions to a particular topic. Literature reviews are secondary sources, and do n...

Gauging first-impression emotional responses to product and service designs This explores the affective response that different designs elicit from people based on first impressions. Using index cards with positive, neutral, and negative ad...

Usability Testing refers to evaluating a product or service by testing it with representative users. Typically, during a test, participants will try to complete typical tasks while observers watch, listen and takes notes.  The goal is to identify an...